skip to Main Content

In 2013 WECAN Food Basket created a Volunteer Coordinator of the Year Award to pay tribute and honor to our former board member, driver and volunteer Lynn Mulvaney.  Lynn was a dedicated depot coordinator and the heart and soul of  our Parkland Depot .  Lynn exemplified what a true volunteer is,  for over 10 years  she was not only a driver and depot coordinator, she was also a WECAN promoter.  Lynn was best known for the pizza box presentation, in which she would use a  pizza box to compare the cost of one pizza with one full WECAN order and asking potential members which gave them best deal and provided the most nutritional value.  Lynn fought a courageous battle with cancer and passed away in 2012. You are forever missed Lynn.






 2017 Volunteer of the Year

2017 Volunteer of the Year Apryl Barbeau Board Chair Carla Brenner, Apryl, Program Manager Suzanne

2016 Volunteer of the Year

Left to Right: Paige Nelson, Carla Brenner and Suzanne Rigsby


2015 Volunteer of the Year

Wendy Hagan

 2014 Volunteer of the Year Award

2014 Volunteer Coordinator of the Year Maxine Charlton – Strathcona Depot

 2013 Volunteer of the Year Award

   Left 2013 recipient Sherri Balaban, centre

The first Annual Lynn Mulvaney Coordinator of the Year Award was presented to Sherie Balaban from our Jasper Place Depot by the original founder of WECAN – Kathy Verekyen.

Back To Top